Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for January 14th, 2012

I am very surprised that I am writing on here today. I didn’t think I would be able to write an entry this week because I literally spent the past five days in bed. I haven’t even left the house since Monday night!

I kept wondering, “What can I write besides ‘I hate being sick.” Then, as my ability to think straight and to concentrate on one thing for an extended period of time started to return to me yesterday, I remembered that I did do something of note before this cold attacked me! And what will result is a little post about the past meeting the present…sort of.

 

Last weekend, a very good friend of mine from high school informed me that she was going to be in town for a few days with a friend of hers. We don’t get to see each other often anymore, so I eagerly cleared my Sunday in anticipation for her spending the day with her and her friend. We spent a couple hours catching up and reminiscing about things that happened in high school before heading over to a local park to watch the sunset. The view is great: the part of the park where we were is on top of a hill, so it overlooks the neighboring city and from certain areas, you can get a lovely view of the ocean in the distance as well. Here are a few of the pictures that I took:

Sunset

Moon Rising

After Sunset

The last of is by far my favorite. I love the colors of the sky, especially the blue gradient, how the sparse landscape accentuates the silhouette of the tree, and the singular star that was visible at the time.

I also liked the picture because it reminded me of a Harry & the Potters poster I bought in 2006 when I saw the band perform at a local library on my birthday. (Who wouldn’t want to see Harry & the Potters, the band that started the music genre of Wizard Rock, perform at a library on his/her birthday?! I am so cool! 😀 lol)

Unfortunately, the poster is lost somewhere in my room, and I am still too sick to care to find it at the moment. Luckily, I was able to find some photos I took of it. However, they weren’t the best: the pictures were crooked; the lighting is different in each of them, so the colors don’t quite match; and I only focused on the parts of the poster where the brothers signed, so I am missing the top part of the poster (basically, the tops of the trees). But, despite these issues, I stitched the two photos together, and here is the result:

Harry & the Potters 2006 Summer Tour Poster

I probably could have done a better job, such as trying to make the colors match before stitching the two photos together, but I’m sick. Pretty good excuse if you ask me. 😉 Nevertheless, I am sure you can see why the poster reminded me of my picture at the park.

 

Well, that is all for this week. Not much, but it will do. I am sad I was unable to try a new recipe or two out this week, but I banished myself from the kitchen because I was either a) too miserable to cook and/or b) too afraid of contaminating everything I touch with my germs. No progress on the writing front either: as I mentioned before, my concentration was shot because of my cold. C’est la vie~~~

Although I am on my way back to 100% now, the chances of me updating next week are very slim because I am going to Florida with my mom to visit my grandparents.

Not sure when it will be, but…until next time!

 

Yours smiling (& sneezing & sniffling),

Miss Mo.

Read Full Post »